Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Political Science: Management

Institute Board ›
Programme Board ›
Institute Council ›
Advisory Council ›

Institute Board

The Institute of Political Science is managed by the Institute Board, which consists of a scientific director (appointed from within the professors of the institute) and at most two other members (appointed from the faculty). They are appointed for three years. The Board manages the workflow of the employees of the Institute of Political Science and stimulates the connection between education and research in the field of Political Science.

The members of the Institute Board are:


Programme Board

The Institute of Political Science has a Programme Board, consisting of the scientific director, the director of studies and the student member of the Institute Board. The third member of the Institute Board is given the opportunity to be present at meetings and is an auditor with advisory authority. The Programme Board, amongst other tasks, takes care of the organisation and integration of the offered education compliant to the Rules and Regulations. It advises the Institute Board about the content of the educational programmes.

Programme Board BSc Political Science and MSc Political Science


Institute Council

The Institute Council advises the Institute Board on all issues concerning the Institute of Political Science.

Advisory Council

The Advisory Council advises the Institute Board on a wide range of topics that concern the Institute. This advice is mainly dispensed on matters concerning education, research and the link between studies and the labour market.


The members of the Advisory Council are:

  • Christiaan van de Griend (secretary of the board of the Dutch Labour Party)
  • Senna Maatoug (economist Netherlands Ministry of Finance)
  • Eveline van Rijswijk (theatre maker, presenter & political historian)
  • Rudy Andeweg (emeritus professor Institute of Political Science)
  • Lejla Kalkan (programme lead co-creation Amsterdam municipality)
  • Jeroen van Dommelen (spokesman Netherlands Ministry of Foreign Affairs)


This website uses cookies.  More information.