Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Examination Appeals Board

The Examination Appeals Board (College van Beroep voor de Examens, CBE) is an independent board of appeal, established under the terms of the Higher Education and Research Act (Wet op het Hoger Onderwijs en Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek, WHW). Students can lodge appeals at the CBE if they disagree with a decision by the department about:

  • negative binding study advise (BSA)
  • refusal of admission to a study programme, tests or exams
  • a decision made by examiners or a Board of Examiners (exemptions, assessments, plagiarism or fraud)

The letter of appeal must be send within six weeks of the date of issue of the decision in question. Different deadlines apply to appeals against the negative BSA decision. You can read more about this on the student website >>


The Examination Appeals Board consists of members of every faculty and of student members. The composition of the board changes every session.


Mr. O. van Loon
Mr. H.J.G. Bruens
Mr. K.H. Sanders


Mr. C. de Groot
Mr. Dr. J.H.M. Huijts
Mr. Dr. J. Nijland
Dr. A.M. Rademaker
Dr. K. Beerden
Dr. W.M. Lijfering
Dr. J.J. Hylkema
Dr. C.V. Weeda

Student members

J.J. Christiaans
M. Heezen
M. Klink
Y.D.R. Mandel
E.L. Mendez Correa
F.T. van Wetten
W.J. van Wetten
M.S. van der Veer BSc
J. Kuster
Z.I. de Vos

Composition of the Board for the coming sessions


Session 20 October


Mr. H.J.G. Bruens


Dr. A.M. Rademaker
Dr. K. Beerden


F.T. van Wetten
Z.I. de Vos

Sessions Examination Appeals Board in 2021

20 October 2021
3 November 2021
17 November 2021
1 December 2021
15 December 2021

Postal address

Leiden University
Examination Appeals Board
P.O. Box 9500
2300 RA Leiden


secretariaat-jz@bb.leidenuniv.nl, .

This website uses cookies.  More information.