Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Faculty Board

Faculty Board 2020

Faculty Board

  • is responsible for the management and organisation of the Faculty with respect to education, teaching and scholarly practice.
  • is responsible for the administration of the Faculty.  The Executive Board has delegated authority to the Faculty Board with respect to personnel, financial and general management pursuant to the stipulations in the Executive and Management Regulations and the mandate regulations that apply to the Faculty Board. The Faculty Board may in turn delegate authority to the Academic Directors with regard to the academic institutes.
  • is authorised with regard to the general management of the Faculty to set guidelines for the Academic Directors.
  • consults regularly with the Academic Directors collectively. It fulfils its responsibilities in close cooperation with these directors and strives to obtain the broadest possible support for its decisions.
  • observes the guidelines formulated by the Executive Board in accordance with article 9.5 of the Dutch Higher Education and Research Act (WHW).
  • is accountable to the Executive Board and provides it with information regarding the Faculty.

Board Member

Division of tasks


Professor J.P. (Joanne) van der Leun

  • General management coordination  
  • Faculty strategy
  • Internal and external contacts 
  • Chairs
  • Internationalisation faculty 
  • Advanced Master’s programmes
  • Employee participation
  • PhD defences 
  • Alumni policy and fundraising 
  • Marketing and Communication 
  • Diversity 
  • Contacts with the professional field 
  • Academic integrity

Director of Research and  Vice Dean

Prof. S.C.G. Van den Bogaert

  • Research
  • Researchpolicy and Research profiling
  • Graduate School/ PhD policy
  • Pre PhD Programme
  • Internationalisation in research 
  • Research grants
  • Impactstrategy

Director of Education and Vice Dean

Prof. dr. mr. T. (Ton) Liefaard

  • Education policy
  • Bachelor and Master programmes
  • Faculty teaching at other Faculties
  • Honours College Law 
  • Summer Schools
  • Post-academic Education (Juridisch PAO)  
  • Internationalisation of education

Director of Operational Management

dr. M.P. (Mirjam) Sombroek-van Doorm

  • Finance   
  • Personnel and organisation 
  • IT & information management 
  • Office automatio and business systems  
  • Office accommodation and facilities
  • Health and Safety 
  • Library  

Student member / assessor

D.M.C. (Dion) Latten

  • Students, student facilities, student information, complaints 
  • Study associations, NOVUM 
  • Intermediate for students  and Faculty with regard to teaching, research and organisation 
  • Diversity



This website uses cookies.  More information.