Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Faculty Board

Faculty Board 2023-2024


The Faculty Board is responsible for the administration and organisation of the faculty in terms of education and research.

Portfolio distribution

Board member Portfolio

Dean and

portfolio holder research

Prof.dr. Mark Rutgers


Contact: Jonique van Hooff-Bartels

General managerial coordination and faculty strategy:

  • Coordination and integration of Faculty Board decision-making
  • Strategic partnerships and external relations, amongst others:
    • African Studies Centre Leiden
    • LUCIS
    • LeidenGlobal (in collaboration with holder of the operational management portfolio)
    • NINO (in collaboration with holder of the operational management portfolio)
    • LDE Centres
    • ICLON
  • Research policy, amongst others:
    • LERU
    • LeidenAsiaCentre
    • Lorentz Centre
    • LUCSoR
  • Library policy
  • Internationalisation (in collaboration with the holders of the education portfolio)
  • Graduate School and PhD affairs
  • Chair policy and career policy for academic staff
  • Data management (in collaboration with holder of the operational management portfolio)
  • Organisational structure faculty

Vice Dean and portfolio holder education BA

Dr. Jeroen Touwen


General education policy and management BA:

  • Quality assurance education BA
  • Communication and recruitment BA
  • Education marketing BA
  • Honours programmes BA
  • ICT and teaching
  • Digital humanities (in collaboration with the dean)
  • Minors policy 
  • Core curriculum
  • Implementation Bright Space

Vice Dean education and portfolio holder education MA and ResMA

Prof. dr. Mirjam de Baar



General education policy and management (RES)MA:

  • Quality assurance education MA
  • Communication and recruitment (RES)MA
  • Education marketing (RES)MA
  • Professionalisation of programme committee
  • Honours programmes (RES)MA
  • MAIR
  • Contract education
  • Alumni policy
  • Labour market orientation BA en (RES)MA  (in collaboration with other vice dean and assessor)
  • Two-year master's programme in teaching (ICLON)
  • MasterLanguage
  • Diversity policy education (in collaboration with the Assessor)
  • Leven lang leren

Portfolio Operational Management

S. Goedhard MBA



General operational management:

  • Financial management and policy
  • Human resources (in particular pressure of work)
  • Health and safety
  • Management information and information management
  • Housing and furnishing  
  • General communication
  • Societal impact of research (in collaboration with the dean)
  • Staff diversity policy


Nova Verkerk

General responsibility for contact with students within faculty bodies:

  • Maintaining contact with study associations and students within the faculty and in faculty bodies
  • Complaints coordinator
  • Managing assessor budget
  • Granting scholarships to student members in faculty bodies and boards of study associations
  • In LAssO context, consultation with the vice rector magnificus and membership of working groups (such as the Honours Academy, RFOS and Mare Editorial Board)
  • Maintaining contact with other Humanities assessors in the country
  • Permanent member of the Humanities Career Event organisation committee
This website uses cookies.  More information.