Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Programme Directors

At the head of each programme is a Programme Director, usually a professor who is involved in education and reports to the Vice Dean and the member of the Faculty Board with the education portfolio. There is a consultative body of Programme Directors. The Vice Dean is the chairman. The Programme Directors consult once every six weeks with the Faculty Board on educational matters within the faculty.

Roles and responsibilities of the Programme Directors:

  • Responsible for organisation and integration of education
  • Responsible for the quality of education
  • Makes a quality plan of education
  • Provides advice to the Faculty Board on the content and structure of the programme
  • Makes the curriculum
  • Helps ensure the educational quality of teaching and teachers
  • Maintains external relationships on behalf of the programme
  • Advises the Faculty Board in estimating resources serving education

Programme Directors


Dr. Rawi Ramautar

Programme Director BSc Bio-Pharmaceutical Sciences

Prof.dr. Miranda van Eck

Programme Director MSc Bio-Pharmaceutical Sciences

Dr. Marcel Schaaf

Programme BSc Director Biology

Prof.dr. Dennis Claessen

Programme MSc Director Biology

Prof.dr. Lies Bouwman

Programme Director MSc Chemistry and MSc Life Science and Technology, Acting Programme Director BSc Life Science and Technology

Dr. Marco van Eijk
Programme Director BSc Life Science and Technology

Dr. Alexander van Oudenhoven

Programme Director MSc Governance of Sustainability

Dr. Stefano Cucurachi

Programme Director MSc Industrial Ecology

Dr. Frank Takes

Programme Director BSc Computer Science / Data Science and Artificial Intelligence

Dr. Matthijs van Leeuwen

Programme Director MSc Computer Science / Media Technology / ICT in Business and the Public Sector

Dr. Volkert van Steijn

Programme Director BSc Molecular Science and Technology

Prof.dr. Koenraad Schalm

Programme Director BSc and MSc Physics

Dr. Michiel Hogerheijde

Programme Director BSc Astronomy and MSc Astronomy

Dr. Martin Bright

Programme Director BSc and MSc Mathematics

Prof. dr. Saskia le Cessie

Programma Director MSc Statistical Science for the Life and Behavioural Sciences


This website uses cookies.  More information.